Menu Close

The Australian Canyoning Association is run by a committee of volunteers who are elected at the AGM.

The current committee members are:

President: Damo Anderson
“I got my first taste of canyoning way back in the 80’s having spent my youth growing up in the bush on bikes and general exploring. I’m passionate about the future of canyoning here in Australia and the environmental challenges it faces.  I want people to enjoy canyoning but also to learn about the dangers of the activity and the impact they may be having on the environment. Treat the canyons with respect and they’ll treat you the same.”
Vice President: Tom Begić
Tom developed a love for outdoor adventure as a child and continues to indulge in activities such as canyoning, caving, bushwalking, snow camping, parachuting, diving, and photography all around the world. He has served on committees and boards for over 30 years in various roles. Skill development, risk management, preservation, and access, are areas of particular interest.
Secretary: David Fisher
David first dabbled in canyoning nigh on 40 years ago as a diversion from his then obsession of caving. He’s still a keen caver along with canyoning and bushwalking.
Treasurer: Mike Patterson
“A life long love of wild places has taken me bushwalking and rock climbing all over Australia, Italy, France and the UK. I’m now making the most of my Blue Mountains home by combining all those activities in canyoning.”
Ordinary Committee Member: Gabby Faura
Publicity Officer
I have always loved bushwalking. Years ago, while walking passed canyons in the Blue Mountains I’d think “wow! That looks so cool!”… But possibly too cool (and hard) for me. Then out of pure luck someone offered to give me some training and take me on a canyon. It was at that moment, 7 years ago, while on a rope stepping backwards off a cliff into a canyon that I knew I was in love! So, even with 4 kids and work, I manage to spend most of my spare time canyoning. If I can help others experience and enjoy my passion in life, then this is what I’m here for.
Ordinary Committee Member: Matt Sage
Canyon Care Officer and Access Officer
“I learned to abseil 30 years ago on Pulau Pangkor off Malaysia’s west coast. We used hand-tied harnesses made of off-cuts of static rope and well-worn eights. Back in Australia, I continued with outdoor pursuits, mostly involving off-track hiking, kayaking or rock-climbing. Over the years I’ve tried to keep up with new techniques and have a passion for sharing my knowledge, especially with my two kids.”

Sub-Committee Members

The Committee of the Australian Canyoning Association is assisted by members working on sub-committees.

These members are:

General – Craig Flynn
A prolific canyoner with vast local knowledge of the greater Blue Mountains Cayons. Craig is a wealth of knowledge and a great character of the local canyoning scene here in NSW. He loves leading groups into the bush and sharing technical knowledge with all comers and is a major contributor to the Australian Canyoning Association. Craig also writes a blog on every trip he does at
Representative – Blue Mts: Geoff Fox
I began canyoning about 15 years ago and became totally hooked. It is a great privilege to enter the exciting, subterranean world known only to canyoners. I love the teamwork and camaraderie that bonds the group. Blue Mountains canyons are my home. My interests include best canyoning practice, risk management and training Upper Blue Mountains Bushwalking Club canyoners.

General Sub Committee’s

Canyon Care

Matt Sage (Chair)
Tom Begić


Mike Patterson (Chair)
Damo Anderson

Regional Representative Sub Committee’s

NSW – Blue Mts

Geoff Fox

NSW – South Coast

Tom Begić (Chair)
Matt Sage


TBA (Chair)


TBA (Chair)


TBA (Chair)